Diana Ross and Tame Impala Unite on New Stacked New Minions Soundtrack, Along with St. Vincent, Phoebe Bridgers and More – Jahanagahi

Diana Ross and Tame Impala Unite on New Stacked New Minions Soundtrack, Along with St. Vincent, Phoebe Bridgers and More

A long-rumored collaboration between Tame Impala and Diana Ross is just one of the delights lined up for the unfeasibly stacked soundtrack for Minions: The Rise of Gru. His original song “Turn Up the Sunshine” joins a series of covers of 1970s classics: St. Vincent does Lipps Inc.’s “Funkytown”; Phoebe Bridgers does “Goodbye to Love” by the Carpenters; Caroline Polachek does Nancy Sinatra’s “Bang Bang”; Brittany Howard does Earth, Wind & Fire’s “Shining Star” (with original band member Verdine White); and Kali Uchis does the bossa nova standard “Detuned”.

Elsewhere, Weyes Blood takes on Linda Ronstadt’s “You’re No Good”; Thundercat covers Steve Miller Band’s “Fly Like an Eagle”; and Tierra Whack puts a spin on Santana’s “Black Magic Woman.” Brockhampton, who is on indefinite hiatus, contributed a cover of Kool & the Gang’s “Hollywood Swinging.” according to a cheep by Kevin Abstract, the group recorded it long before their hiatus began. Check out the full track listing below.

RZA contributes an original song called “Kung Fu Suite” and there are more covers by Bleachers, HER and the Minions themselves, who perform “Cecilia” by Simon & Garfunkel. Jack Antonoff produced the soundtrack, which will be available digitally and on vinyl, cassette and CD on July 1 via Decca. The film opens the same day.

The Tame Impala and Diana Ross collaboration was originally rumored to appear on the Supremes singer’s 2021 album, Thank you, his first album in 15 years. Instead, it will be released on Friday, May 20.

Check out “RIYL: Tame Impala’s the slow fever”Take the court and read about Diana Ross’s ‘I’m Coming Out’ in Pitchfork’s feature “50 Songs That Define The Last 50 Years Of LGBTQ+ Pride.”

All products featured on Pitchfork are independently selected by our editors. However, when you purchase something through our retail links, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Minions: The Rise of Gru

V/A: Minions: The Rise of Gru (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack)

Minions: The Rise of Gru (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack):

01 Diana Ross: “The Sun Rises” [ft. Tame Impala]
02 Brittany Howard: “Shining Star” [ft. Verdine White] (Earth Wind and Fire)
Calle 03 Vicente: “Funkytown” (Lipps Inc.)
04 Brockhampton: “Hollywood Swinging” (Kool & the Gang)
05 Kali Uchis: “Detuned” (Stan Getz & Joao Gilberto)
06 Caroline Polachek: “Bang Bang” (Nancy Sinatra)
07 Thundercat: “Fly like an eagle” (Steve Miller Band)
08 Phoebe Bridgers: “Goodbye Love” (The Carpenters)
09 Bleachers: “Instant Karma!” (John Lennon)
10 Weyes Blood: “You are not good” (Linda Ronstadt)
11 Gary Clark Jr.: “Vehicle” (The Ides of March)
12 SHE: “Dance To The Music” (Sly and the Family Stone)
13 Earth Whack: “Black Magical Woman” (Santana)
14 Verdine White: “Great”
15 Jackson Wang: “Born To Be Alive” (Patrick Hernandez)
16 The Minions: “Cecilia” (Simon & Garfunkel)
17 GEM: “Bang Bang” (Nancy Sinatra)
18 RZA: “Kung Fu Suite”
19 Heitor Pereira: “Minions: The Rise of Gru Score Suite”


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *